A few of my favorite things…from 2010 part 1

Well, after taking a year off from the TNM, I figured I would weigh in for my year-end list. However, I’ll leave the best albums, movies, etc to the professionals. Instead, this week, I’m going to just post about shit I was into. Most of it isn’t necessarily new this year, but new to me. So you can deal with it.

First up….the radio!
With me spending between 20-30 hours a week driving due to my job, that meant I’ve had plenty of time to listen to the radio. Honestly, it’s something I really hadn’t done in a long time. And, with that in mind, I present my top ten radio songs. suck it!

10) “Radioactive” – Kings of Leon

I know it’s really easy to hate on Kings of Leon, but all of their singles that I’ve heard on the radio, I don’t hate ’em. And this one is no different. But the bass player is pretty goofy looking. I hope I never look like that while playing.

9) “Flyin’ Solo” – Jason Derulo

If were one to go out to clubz on the weekend, this would be my jam to which I would get ready.

8) “Teenage Dream” – Katy Perry

All of the singles off of Katy Perry’s first album, I really hated. And now every one from this new album, I’ve liked. I don’t get it. I don’t think I’m turning 30 this week, I think I’m actually turning 13. and into a girl.

7) “Animal” – Neon Trees

I’m just going to ignore the video. It makes me want to punch someone. Anyway, this sounds a lot like Phoenix for kids, yet I like this song more than the two Phoenix radio singles this year!

6) “Sweet Disposition” – The Temper Trap

I couldn’t resist posting the diet coke commercial. The idea of it seemed really funny to me. Is that Beyonce at the end? Anyway, I really like that the chorus drum beat is on the off-beat. That’s all.

5) “Club Can’t Handle Me” – Flo-Rida ft David Guetta

There is something really funny about this song be performed for Kathie Lee and Hoda at 8 in the morning.

4) “Dynamite” – Taio Cruz

Wow. I realize the above video is not for the actual song, but I came across this parody on youtube. It’s unbelievably bad. WTF! Be sure to watch the Christmas medley. I couldn’t even make it through the first minute. I guess you can get 400,000 views if you have some hot girl with big boobs act nerdy. Never fails. Perhaps we need to try that.(Sorry Taio, but I can’t even remember what I was going to say about the original song. You can blame Screen Team)

3) “Magic” – B.o.B ft Rivers Cuomo

I’m sure I’ll be accused of including this song simply because my favoritest person in the entire world is on this song, but that is simply not true. I think plenty of what Weezer is doing right now really sucks. This song is just a dope party banger. But it’s really tough to watch Rivers in the video. I feel embarrassed for him.

2) “Your Love is My Drug” – Ke$ha

I’m a pretty big fan of Ke$sha. No joke. Also, she seems to mainly work with Dr. Luke, which after doing this list, I realized he worked on half of the songs, so obviously I like his radio production stylings. Maybe I should break into his house and steal his synths. Oh yeah, I love the line “Do you want to have a slumber party in my basement?”

1) “Bulletproof” – La Roux

This is probably only song on the list where I REALLY like. I just came across their album at the library this week, and though I’ve only given it a listen once, it seems pretty good. A bunch of poppy synth songs.

Well, there you have it. Listening to the radio this year reminded me just how stale/shitty rock radio has gotten.

Leave a Reply

