70 Aspects Of Batman: 22

KATSUHIRO OTOMO

From Wikipedia:

Katsuhiro Otomo (大友克洋, Ōtomo Katsuhiro?, born April 14, 1954) is a Japanese manga artist, film director, and screenwriter. He is perhaps best known for being the creator of the manga Akira and its anime adaptation, which are extremely famous and influential. Otomo has also directed several live-action films, such as the 2006 feature film adaptation of the Mushishi manga.

Otomo’s Batman has only appeared once, in an 8-page story featured in Batman: Black & White from 1996. The story features Otomo trademarks like psychic battle and crazed psychos…I can’t admit I actually completely understand it, but it’s interesting and looks like great and is, thus far, his only foray into American comics. The image above is the only one I could find online, but it gives you an idea. Even though his Batwork is limited to one picture here, I wanted to include Otomo because of his impact on world comic culture, and my own love of his work. It would be lovely to have another Batstory from this influential artist (or another comic story in general), but I’m not holding my breath. I guess we’ll just have to be happy with what we have.

G.

One response to “70 Aspects Of Batman: 22

  1. I remember reading this back in the day and enjoying it, but I recall it feeling like the set-up of a much larger story, one I wish Otomo would complete. Maybe I’m wrong, but even if I am I’d still personally love to see Otomo return to “The Third Mask.”

Leave a Reply

