Summer Video Games I’m Looking Forward To by Me, Matt G.

Here are some of the possibly cool games that are coming out this summer that I’m tentatively looking forward to.  The chances of me buying any of these games any time soon is slim but I will at least look at them wistfully on the store shelves when they’re released.  After all, I still haven’t really played many of the 2008-2010 games I was looking forward to (Metal Gear Solid 4, Resident Evil 5, Tekken 6, Street Fighter IV, Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, BioShock 2, etc.)

Super Mario Galaxy 2
developer/publisher: Nintendo  system: Wii  release: May
I’m sure this will be a high quality game but the whole Galaxy thing again?  Right after the New SMB thing again?  What is this, Mega Man or something?

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands
developer: Ubisoft Montreal  publisher: Ubisoft  system: Xbox 360 & PlayStation 3  release: May
This game ignores the 2008 reboot and takes place within the 2003-2005 “Sands of Time” sub-series.

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands
developer: Ubisoft Quebec City  publisher: Ubisoft  system: Wii  release: May
This isn’t a typo.  The Wii game, in spite of its name, is a completely different game and story from the X360/PS3 version.  Weird!

Metroid: Other M
developer: Nintendo/Ninja Team  publisher: Nintendo  system: Wii  release: June
I’m really, really curious about this game.  The clips I’ve seen seem really contradictory – some look like a sidescrolling shooter and others look like latter Ninja Gaiden type action sequences.

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker
developer: Kojima Productions  publisher: Konami  system: PSP  release: June
I haven’t really enjoyed many PSP games but the previous Metal Gear installment was one of them so bring it on.

Hydro Thunder Hurricane
developer: Vector Unit  publisher: Microsoft  system: Xbox 360 (via Xbox Live Arcade)  release: August
I just found out about this game today.  The trailer looks pretty decent but unlike the arcade-only “spiritual successor”, H2Overdrive, this game doesn’t seem to have any staff member connections to Midway Games (RIP) or the original Hydro Thunder.

2 responses to “Summer Video Games I’m Looking Forward To by Me, Matt G.

  1. other m looks really neat!

    was mario galaxy 1 any good?

  2. Super Mario Galaxy was a great game but I couldn’t help being disappointed for a couple of reasons. First, the game was incredibly over-praised and there was no way it could live up to the hype. Additionally, I felt that there wasn’t nearly enough progression when compared to SM64. 11 years is a long time and there should have been a lot more true innovation. It was also 11 years between SMB and SM64 and I think anyone can agree that the difference between those two games is immense compared to the baby steps taken between SM64 and SMGalaxy.

    Additionally, the whole running around on little planets thing was fine for one game but now we get another game like that? I’m not sure why everyone thinks this particular gimmick is so great after they called the water pack in SMSunshine too gimmicky.

    I think I’m a bit jaded at the moment because first we get New SMB Wii which, while quite fun and all, was just more of the same from New SMB on DS and now we get more of the same from SMGalaxy.

    On the Metroid subject, I’m a little nervous because I don’t really care for the recent 3D Ninja Gaiden games and I’m afraid Team Ninja’s influence on Other M might result in a boring hack and slash adventure.

Leave a Reply

