“1960s Marvel Comics Challenge” aaaaand “A good site for downloading comics”

Yes, I’m taking the 1960s Marvel Comics Challenge.  Don’t be scared if you’re unfamiliar with the challenge because, after all, I invented it.  As Greg Goode can tell you, Marvel’s 1950s output consisted mostly of monster/sci-fi anthologies and western comics.  The success of Fantastic Four #1 in 1961 pushed Marvel in the direction for which they are known today: super heroez.  During the early 1960s, most of the sci-fi and fantasy anthologies introduced new super heroes (Ant-Man, Thor) and reintroduced old, 1940s Marvel characters (Captain America).

So, I recently started reading the ongoing Fantastic Four series (created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby for its first 102 issues!) and I recently thought, “Why not spread it out and read the other 1960s Marvel super hero titles?”  After all, most of them feature art by really solid or even spectacular guys like Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko, John Buscema, etc.

Here’s where I’m getting the comics: Comicsworld.

Go to that site immediately! They have a ton of stuff you probably never even realized you wanted to look at. Also, when it comes to guiding my Marvel Comics Challenge, I’m using the site Marvel Comics Database. This great site categorizes releases by year and month so I just look at the month and can read everything as it came out. Sweet, right?!

Most comics are scanned in a .cbr or .cbz format so you need a viewer. I use this one: Coview

So, as I make my way through the challenge I believe I’ll post a “year in review” to rate each year. A’ight? So I’m not going to post any scans or cover shots or anything because I’ll save those for then. BYE.

One response to ““1960s Marvel Comics Challenge” aaaaand “A good site for downloading comics”

  1. miloprometheus

    This sounds like a good challenge…and an ambitious one too. Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

