Stuck on Repeat: Track 5 – “Two Weeks” by Grizzly Bear

Veckatimest

Veckatimest

(Warp – 2009)

So just last week Greg asked if I had anything in the works for “Stuck on Repeat.” I confessed to him that, while I had been listening to music quite regularly due to my new job allowing for plenty of ipod time, there was nothing getting repeated play. Then this week, while listening to NPR’s “All Songs Considered” at said job, this song came up. When it was finished, as you might guess, I proceeded to listen to it several times more.

Grizzly Bear is a pretty hot-shit band right now. Many people would throw “indie” in there, but I think when you’re new album, Veckatimest, debuts at #8 on the Billboard charts, you kind of lose that adjective.  Sorry dudes.

Anyway, it’s the perfect track to pull me out of this musical funk.  I love that it’s such a simple song.  Essentially propelled by a constant plinking of a few piano/Rhodes notes and countered by a stuttering rhythm section that has to wait until the choruses to fully join in.   I’m somewhat surprised this hasn’t become a summer hit. I believe it’s light, breezy and sing-along-enough to break big.  But what do I know.

Oh, and since I don’t even own this album, I can only share the video with you, which is definitely in the running for most unsettling video of the year. But who are we kidding, we all know that DM’s “Wrong” is going to win by a mile!

Ryan

3 responses to “Stuck on Repeat: Track 5 – “Two Weeks” by Grizzly Bear

  1. i’ve been meaning to watch that video! thanks for reminding me.

    this is definitely the best song on the new album…personally, i think yellow house (previous album) is alot better.

    but they are a very good live show and also grizzly bear is a nickname ed droste gave his former boyfriend which is kinda dumb so i still like them.

  2. I fell in love with the pre-release version of this song on their myspace back in November. They had it posted to generate some buzz about the upcoming album I guess. I could not stop listening, over and over. I still like that version better, but its not on there anymore.
    And actually, I think it has been declared the song of the summer in Seattle. Oh just one more reason to visit, right?
    :)

  3. Mand: I actually just checked out “Yellow House” from the library last week, but I have yet to listen to it. I have to admit though, that I am a little fearful that GB might be a band where I am so enamored by one song, that anything else by them just doesn’t compare. I hope that is not the case…

    Kat: I’m glad it’s getting play somewhere. What’s getting played here is that stupid “There ain’t no rest for wicked” song. I hate that song.

Leave a Reply

