Lollapalooza 2009: Day 2

I think I survived Day 2.  Here’s what I saw:

Santigold: Easily the best performance of the day.  It was the last day of her tour, and everything was polished to a tee.  She had probably the best atitude/morale I’ve seen so far and seemed geniuinely excited/thankful to be playing Lolla.  Annd, her vocals sounded the complete opposite of someone that is on the last day of tour.  Pretty amazing, expecially considering the strange vocals she does.  Santigold had two dancers with her, each one standing on either side of her on the stage.  The dancers wore matching gold and black costumes and did choreographed robotic/show choir/military type moves during her set.  So, dance party ensued.

Her setlist isn’t up yet, but she played all of her bigger songs from Santogold, including “I’m a Lady,” “Anne,” “Unstoppable,” “Lights Out,” and “Creator.”  She also played a cover of the Cure’s “Killing an Arab.”

Animal Collective: I’m not very familiar with this indie weird-noise band, but I do enjoy the song that has the iPod-ish music video.  I wasn’t incredibly impressed and we couldn’t see anything, other than the art-school looking animations they played on the jumbotron.

The video isn’t very good, but it kind of gives you idea of what it was like.

Tool: The headliner for Saturday is another band I’m not wild about, but I stayed long enough to see them play “Stinkfist” and to admire their 80-foot tall pentagram and skull.  Tool is one of those bands that has really cultish fans that sing along to every song and wear Tool shirts to Tool concerts.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs: They played at the same time as Tool and were the last-minute replacement for the Beastie Boys.  I wandered to the other end of the park after thirty minutes of Tool (so like 2 Tool songs) to see them play.  As much as I like this band, I was a little disappointed, even with the last-minuteness in mind.  Karen’s outfits weren’t half as wild as I was hoping and thought she was known for.  Her outfits were 1) a slightly native looking flag drapped over her shoulders 2) a boring floral dress that could have been worn by any girl there 3) her leather jacket that she seems to love.  Also, she had to stop two separate songs because she “forgot the lyrics.”  One of those songs was “maps.”  Seriously, that’s one of her major songs with the easiest lyrics.  Maybe she was nervous or drunk or who knows?

1. Runaway
2. Phenomena (Listed as “Phenom (Beastie Break)” on setlist )
3. Heads Will Roll
4. Pin
5. Dull Life
6. Gold Lion
7. Cheated Hearts
8. Skeletons
9. Hysteric
10. Soft Shock
11. Honeybear
12. Zero
13. Turn Into
14. Maps (acoustic)
15. Y Control
16. Date With the Night

Bands I wish I could have seen on Day 2, but couldn’t cause it’s a huge, hot, crowded fest: TV on the Radio, Atmosphere, Diplo.  Today, my eye is bothering me and the heat is worse than yesterday.  And, there aren’t really any bands I’m dying to see, so I probably won’t be there as long.

-ALLISON

One response to “Lollapalooza 2009: Day 2

  1. favorite part:
    “Tool is one of those bands that has really cultish fans that sing along to every song and wear Tool shirts to Tool concerts.”

Leave a Reply

