Lollapalooza: Day One

I’ve heard a lot of people say things along the lines of “I would die before going to Lollapalooza.” or “The crowds and heat are atrocious!”   Well, even though the latter is definitely true, I still couldn’t not buy a three-day pass.  Here’s my rundown of day one:

Ben Folds: I’m not a huge fan or terribly familiar, but I do have a couple of his albums (Whatever and Ever and Amen and The Unauthorized Biorgraphy of Reinhold Messner).  I didn’t recognize all the songs he played, but hearing hits, such as “Kate” and “Army” was enjoyable.  Grade: B

1 Bitch Went Nutz
2 Effington
3 Landed
4 Bitches ain’t shit
5 Dr. Yang
6 Hiroshima
7 Rockin the Suburbs
8 Kate
9 Narcolepsy
10 You Don’t Know Me
11 Army

Crystal Castles: This band is some indie techno import that I was really excited to see.  Maybe it was the fact that we were standing kind of far back and it was raining and cold, but I wasn’t that impressed.  Overall, the performance seemed uninspired, or inspired by Karen O.  Grade: C-

Thievery Corruption: Ugh, I hate most global sounding stuff that isn’t actually global, and TC was no exception.  Supposedly, one of their songs was played in the movie, Garden State.

Peter, Bjorn and John: This is a band that opened for Depeche Modes and one that I’ve been meaning to check out.  I didn’t get to see much, and I think I’m still going to have to listen to an album or two to understand them.

Nothing to Worry About
Living Thing
It Beats Me Every Time
??
Amsterdam
It Don’t Move Me
Lay It Down
Just the Past
Young Folks
Objects of My Affection
Up Against the Wall

Of Montreal: I’ve seen these guys before.  It was enjoyable like the last time and they do wacky shit, so good show.  Wacky shit examples: girl on cross-like structure; 10-foot long orange hairy arms; bunches of balloons and confetti; weird masks; etc. Grade: B+

1. Nonpareil of Favor
2. Bunny Ain’t No Kind Of Rider
3. Id Engager
4. For Our Elegant Caste
5. Moonage Daydream (David Bowie cover)
6. The Party’s Crashing Us
7. Rapture Rapes the Muses
8. A Sentence of Sorts in Kongsvinger
9. Wraith Pinned to the Mist and Other Games
10. Beware Our Nubile Miscreants
11. Touched Something’s Hollow
12. An Eluardian Instance
13. Heimdalsgate Like a Promethean Curse
14. She’s A Rejecter

3800055040_6b3900ef44

3800055272_5989c645c9
Depeche Mode: Ah, the main band I really wanted to see.  And, it was nothing short of amazing.  DM made use of the jumbotrons by incorporating some goth art (a red, blinking eyeball above a picture of a single crow) and some confusing art (a young black man’s face. then a fat person in a circle running like a hampster wheel.  then an old gandolf-looking man.  let me know if you get this.).  They played for about an hour and forty-five mintues and played a good mix of new and old stuff.  Unfortunately, they did not play my favorite DM song, But Not Tonight.  Oh, well. Another note is that DM could not have played in a more appropriate atmosphere than they did last night: completely overcast sky that threatened rain against the super modern skyscrapers.   Grade: A+

1. In Chains
2. Wrong
3. Hole to Feed
4. Walking In My Shoes
5. It’s No Good
6. A Question of Time
7. Precious Thing
8. Touch Me
9. Home
10. Come Back
11. Policy of Truth
12. In Your Room
13. I Feel You
14. Enjoy the Silence
15. Never Let Me Down Again
(Encore)
16. Stripped
17. Personal Jesus

3800059734_76089c68a3

3801207022_8598a859a9

3801211012_4dc34d4cdc

I would be okay if Lollapalooza was only one day because it’s 94 degrees out today and I’m already exhausted.  I’m lazy, but if you are really interested in looking at all the set-lists/photos, etc, the Lolla website is pretty handy.  hope i survive the next two days.

-ALLISON P.!

4 responses to “Lollapalooza: Day One

  1. miloprometheus

    Good report, Al. I’m jealous re: DM. Hopefully they will come through the midwest again come next year. And as for “But Not Tonight”…sadly, the band don’t think very highly of the song, and as far as I can tell, it’s never been played live. Sometimes an artist isn’t the best judge of their own work.

  2. I guess I’d with I were dead.

  3. Whoa, whoa, whoa, where the hell is the report for Day 2? Color me pissed!

  4. good summary.

    favorite part:
    “Overall, the performance seemed uninspired, or inspired by Karen O.”

Leave a Reply

