Lollapalooza 2009 Rumors

Chicago is way excited about two things right now:  the 2016 Olympics bid and Lollapalooza.  I have compiled some rumors/facts and welcome any other rumors people have heard, especially concerning the $60 festival tickets, as they eventually jump to close to over $200.

  1. Beastie Boys, Depeche Mode, Kings of Leon and Jane’s Addiction are rumored to play.
  2. The ever-elusive $60 souvenier tickets go on sale this week.  An email was sent, I believe, Monday stating this.  Last year, the tickets sold out in either 1 minute or 10 minutes.  Ridiculous.
  3. My personal prediction was that Coldplay is going to play, but their tour schedule has since filled up, with dates on both August 7th & 9th.  They still could play August 8th, but I’ve heard that bands can’t have a show for a certain amount of days before and after they play Lollapalooza.
  4. Last I heard, which was probably on the Chicago Tribune, is that Chicago is one of the front runners for the Olympics bid, but recently someone important, whom I can’t remember his name or title, withdrew his association with the bid. 
  5. When I look at the evaluation scores, Chicago is third. 

**Update [2:41 pm]:  The $60 tickets came and went at 2:05 pm this afternoon.  Last year, they sent an email right before they released the tickets.  The year before, an email a day in advance.  And this year, no warning.  I don’t think my mind/blood pressure can handle this again next year…

ninjagarden

10 responses to “Lollapalooza 2009 Rumors

  1. There’s no way Chicago will win that bid.

    Remember when Lollapalooza was a tour?! Is it just a one or two date thing now? I went to Lollapalooza in 1993 for $30 and it WASN’T a bunch of bands past their primes. I don’t know about Depeche Mode but Beastie Boys and Jane’s Addiction have both long outlived their value. Kings of Leon suck. Whomever goes to this concert gets what they deserve.

  2. i’d like to see depeche mode live.

  3. I wouldn’t care if they are past their prime. I’d see the Beastie Boys. I’m just a sucker like that.

    They actually tried to get them for 80/35, but they straight up said “NO!”
    Them and Beck. He turned them down again.

    ps.
    please don’t delete this.

  4. miloprometheus

    I’d love to see Depeche again, but I hate outdoor shows so there’s no way in hell I’ll be attending Lollapalooza. I will, however, go to indoor shows in Chicago, and am doing so twice in the next month.

  5. Please call me when you are here or else I might cry and die!

  6. Perhaps I will post rumors about the Des Moines music festival 80/35.

    ps
    please do not delete this either.

  7. LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
    I’ve been to 3 big outdoor fesitval shows in my life. The last one was 11 years ago. I was exhausted after being there for 5 minutes. It was Ozzfest and Warped in the same spot and I got to see some of my all-time favorites like Limp Bizkit and Bad Religion.

  8. PS – Lolla announced this years Souvenir tickets on Facebook this year. Thats where I saw the update. They posted this:

    Lollapalooza ladies and gentlemen, warm up your mouse. 3:01pm · Comment · LikeUnlike

  9. Yeah, they announced them at the same time, 2:00 pm, on Twitter. I still consider this as no warning since you pretty much have to be sitting at your computer refreshing the right page every five minutes. So very stressful…

  10. Ugh…getting concert tickets. SO STRESSFUL!

    ps
    please delete this.

Leave a Reply

