The man, the myth, just some guy

So, a couple of people have asked me, “Who is Rob Dobi, anyway?” By a couple of people, I mean just Ryan Meier AKA Rieman Miller. I already answered the question to RM, but I figured maybe other people were curious to the answer as well, and I have nothing to do on this cold, Saturday evening…

Back in high school when I was listening to really cool (JK) emo bands, I set out to the internet to learn more about this elusive genre. What I found when I googled “emo” was Rob Dobi and what was then his assumed fifteen minutes of fame: how to dress emo.

21

Back when dobi.nu was in its prime in 2002, Dobi featured on his website not only a tongue-in-cheek look at emo fashion, but also more personal information, such as school pranks, old family photos and a slew of urban exploring photographs of abandoned, east coast insane asylums.

Today, dobi.nu presents Dobi as a successful t-shirt, poster businessman with clients, such as Urban Outfitters, Fallout Boy and the like. There are still some urban exploration photographs, but the personal anecdotes that really made Dobi stand out as more than just some RISD graduate are gone.

So, yup, there you have it: a brief summary of who Rob Dobi of the never disappearing Rob Dobi 2008 post is.

ninjagarden

Leave a Reply

