CONCERT: OASIS & RYAN ADAMS (Target Center, Minneapolis, MN 12/10/08)

So this past Wednesday I saw Oasis with special guests Ryan Adams & Cardinals in Minneapolis at the Target Center. Oasis has been one of my very favorite bands for the last 12 years, so I’m always excited to see them. Ryan Adams, I got into through my cousin while we lived together in college. And Target has been a Minnesota institution for awhile now. So herez what went down:

First off, there was a short acoustic set by this guy, Matt Costa. Wasn’t really into it.In my opinion, he didn’t do anything to distinguish himself from the 64,000,000 acoustic singer-songwriter guys out there. But he was opening for Oasis and Ryan Adams, so he at least has a good agent.

Ryan Adams and The Cardinals were up next. In spite of having seen them just a little over two months ago in Ames, I was still looking forward to this set. It’s always nice when there’s an opener that you’re not only looking forward to seeing, but would actually pay to see on their own. If I had to pick I’d say I preferred their Ames set, mainly because, it being their own headlining show, RA & The Cs were more able to cherry pick songs from throughout their entire catalogue. Tonight’s setlist was mostly drawn from the new album Cardinology and last year’s Easy Tiger (though “When The Stars Go Blue” from 2001’s Gold and “Let It Ride” from 2005’s Cold Roses were also included). Having said that, it was still a great set. I really enjoy how the band build upon the templates of the songs on the albums and make them rockier and jammier live. A simple, three-minute acoustic number on record like “Off Broadway” becomes a six and a half minute extended jam. I prefer these live versions and, though I like the final Cardinology album, I wish it sounded more like this. Really good set, and I’m glad they were allowed an hour, which to me seems very generous for an opener.

SETLIST

Entrance: Sandford And Son Theme

1.) Cobwebs

2.) Crossed-Out Name

3.) Everybody Knows

4.) When The Stars Go Blue

5.) Fix It

6.) Let It Ride

7.) Off Broadway

8.) Go Easy

9.) Sink Ships

10.) Born Into A Light

11.) I Taught Myself How To Grow Old

12.) Two

13.) Natural Ghost

14.) Magick

I couldn’t find any videos of RA & The Cs from this performace online, so here are a few from other places:

“Fix It” on Letterman (10/08)

“Off Broadway” live, St. Louis (10/08)

“Magick” live, (9/08)

“Cobwebs” on Letterman Online (10/08)

Next of course was Oasis. This was my fourth time seeing these blokes (cause they’re British, geddit?): time number one was also in Minneapolis but was way back in 2000, when they were touring with Travis in support of  Standing On The Shoulder of Giants; the next time was in 2001 in St. Paul with The Black Crowes and time three was in Chicago in 2005 for the Don’t Believe The Truth tour. This time around they’re on the road to promote their new album Dig Out Your Soul. Six songs were played from Soul, including lead single “The Shock Of The Lightning“, Liam’s lovely Lennon tribute “I’m Outta Time” and a groovy, psych “To Be Where There’s Life” written by guitarist Gem Archer. A smattering of lesser-known songs (at least to most American fans) were included in the set, including fan-favorite b-side “The Masterplan” and “Songbird” from 2002’s Heathen Chemistry. And of course there were many selections from their first two (and best) albums, Definitely Maybe and (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? . The biggest reactions were saved for the three big singles from the latter: huge cheers for “Wonderwall“, an arena-wide singalong for a lovely semi-acoustic version of “Don’t Look Back In Anger” and both for “Champagne Supernova“. Personally, as much as I love these songs, I’d be fine if they were dropped from the set; they’ve been played on every tour since 1995, and there are dozens of other songs that I’d rather hear that haven’t been played in years or at all (very early on his tour, “My Big Mouth” from 1997’s overly-maligned Be Here Now was played, but was quickly dropped. Myself and other longtime fans were annoyed). Of course, this will probably never happen. Most of the people who came out tonight probably did so in large part to hear these songs, so it’s understandable that the band would play those over three b-sides or something. Overall though, I think Oasis struck a good balance of crowd-pleasers, new songs and a few other bits and bobs from the catalogue. I’d be the first to admit that I am far from impartial when it comes to this band, so your mileage may vary as to how much you might enjoy this show. For me personally, it was great. There are very few bands who I will bother to see in an arena setting, and Oasis is one of them. They were the first band that made me want to be in a band, and I’m glad that the kind of passion for music they inspire in me remains undiminished.

SETLIST

Entrance: Fuckin’ In The Bushes

1.) Rock N’ Roll Star

2.) Lyla

3.) The Shock Of The Lightning

4.) Cigarettes And Alcohol

5.) The Meaning Of Soul

6.) To Be Where There’s Life

7.) Waiting For The Rapture

8.) The Masterplan

9.) Songbird

10.) Slide Away

11.) Morning Glory

12.) Ain’t Got Nothin’

13.) The Importance Of Being Idle

14.) I’m Outta Time

15.) Wonderwall

16.) Supersonic

ENCORE

17.) Don’t Look Back In Anger

18.) Falling Down

19.) Champagne Supernova

20.) I Am The Walrus

Here are a lot of videos from the show, of varying quality:

“Morning Glory”

“Champagne Supernova”

“Cigarettes & Alcohol”

“Don’t Look Back In Anger”

“Waiting For The Rapture”

“Lyla”

“Wonderwall”

“Songbird”

“Supersonic”

“The Importance Of Being Idle”

“I Am The Walrus”

related posts:

Leave a Reply

