Re: Allison’s 2nd Amendment post

Fact: the United States has a much higher murder rate than other industrialized nations and a large majority of these murders are committed with handguns.

Okay, that’s a fact. I can’t deny it or dispute but I do have a hypothesis on the subject. I believe that violence has always been a vital element of our American culture, especially among common citizens.

I think the best way to test such a hypothesis is to compare crime rates between the USA and the other developed nations from decades ago when firearms were as legal in places like UK and France as they still are in the US. I know that’s quite a challenge and I don’t know where you’d even find such information but I do think you’d find that the murder rate in the US has always been higher than in other comparably developed nations.

But maybe not!

kicknz

Leave a Reply

