Cuil

So, big news: another search engine site has been unveiled that is attempting to rival Google! It was developed by former Google employees and boasts that it completes more effective searches, has more pages in its index and is just way better than Google. I tried out the search engine, Cuil (pronounced “Cool” and meaning knowledge or hazel in Gaelic), and here are my notes.

1. The presentation of the main page is pleasing enough. There are no ads. It’s black, opposed to Google’s white. It’s easy.

2. The name: I’m okay with the idea of looking up the word of what your product is or does and then choosing the translation in the coolest-sounding, ancient language. It’s probably a huge point of excitement or disappointment when you happen to live in a place that speaks the language. Also, I’m kind of tempted to say “Cool-ey” for no reason, other than it is fun to say and my mind sometimes wants to reverse the “i” and “l.”

3. They are still working out the kinks, for sure. I tried this search site using Mac’s Safari browser and it pretty much didn’t work after entering a term on Cuil’s main page. For example, after going to cuil.com, I typed in “Beati Paoli.” The search results were pretty accurate, showing sites pertaining to both Beati Paoli’s historical meaning and the band. Then I thought to myself that I would research dogs and attempted to type “dogs” in the search bar on the page displaying the Beati Paoli results. BUT, the website would not let me click in the search bar and just kept highlighting the entire page. Uhh…hopefully they get this fixed before you read this post cause not working on Safari is kind of a big deal since I hear Safari is the “world’s best browser.”

4. I tried Cuil using the Firefox browser and everything worked smoothly. I was able to complete subsequent searches and the results came up swimmingly.

5. UNTIL, I tried the simple search “map,” which pulled up this message “Sorry, an error occurred. Please try your search again. If the problem persists, please be assured that our team is working quickly to resolve the issue.” I tried searching for “map” multiple times to see if this was some sort of time-out error on both Safari and Firefox and the same error message appeared. I also tried searching for other terms after searching for maps and they came up fine. So, apparently, people can’t search for the term map right now.

6. The layout is more appealing to me than Google’s. It’s definitely more visual (and busy), with the three columns and thumbnails of a select image, which I’m not sure how it is chosen, from the site. I also enjoy the tabs that sort out popular categories of your search. The Explore By Category looks like it might be useful too.

Conclusion: I will update my homepage to cuil.com and make a real conclusion in a week!

One response to “Cuil

  1. sundrumlady

    so i just tried searching for “map”…still not working. but if you search for “maps” or “a map”…it works just fine. i think you may have found the only disfunctional word on the site. WEIRD.

Leave a Reply

