80/35

Well, it seems like someone should write about the biggest music festival to hit downtown Des Moines, so here I go….

Overall: There was an overall lack of enthusiasm, in my opinion.  But it’s always good for people, myself included, to hear new stuff.  Here’s why I think people weren’t very excited for the bands (excluding PCC):  Nobody, except for about ten people total, walked over and held a spot for Black Francis; perhaps people were being polite and I hear there was excitement right in front of the stage, but a lot of the time people didn’t cheer for the FL until after he said, “Thank you;” during the FL, the people in front of me did not move once; the FL played a lot of recognizable singles, but the reception for each song was pretty much the same; the person behind me was more concerned about complaining how he didn’t have weed and how he just came to get high off of someone else’s weed.  Yeah, I like going to concerts where people are really excited and don’t stand the entire time w/ their hands folded or in their pockets…

I only saw five bands perform…

Andrew Bird: I think this was my favorite performance of the the entire festival. I have been wanting to give him a listen for awhile and his performance was a good reminder to do so. I think, with the exception of indie kids and some out-of-towners, nobody knew he existed before Friday evening.

Flaming Lips: Fuck Bush. Fuck this war. Am I the only one getting tired of hearing this everywhere from MTV to the anarchist’s hat at the bus stop? It is the general consensus that America does say, “Fuck Bush and Fuck this War,” so can’t we go beyond spreading the word that has already been spread and focus on the next election? Anyway….the Flaming Lips are known for their crazy, over-the-top, party-style performances. Is it just me or did it seem like we got a slightly abbreviated performance? With the naked painted ladies, skull costume and psychdelic colors, I was mostly reminded of a Beavis and Butt-head dream sequence, which isn’t bad, but who wants a dog when you can have a puppy? Maybe I would have enjoyed this more had a pair of giants not been standing right in front of me.

Jakob Dylan

Black Francis: I went to see Black Francis hoping for the Pixes, or even Frank Black. :( It still was thrilling to see a member of one of my favorite bands perform though.

Poison Control Center: This was the most fun performance. Their loyal fans love them, so the energy is great!

Food: I ordered chicken nachos and there were six-inch pieces of chicken on them, which made them impossible to eat without sitting at a table with a fork and knife. Also, they put shredded cheese on top of pump cheese, ew! I wish I could have found the regular nachos you get at ballparks or movie theaters. OH well, I had some delicious Thai Food afterwards.

Drink: The beer was cheap and the one with the one with the horse was decent. The water was cheap too, but the vendor was overly aggressive when it came to tipping!

Conclusion: I definitely have to commend the committee/people that made this happen because it was quite the feat. Good luck next year!

2 responses to “80/35

  1. i am afraid i had a hard time understanding most of this post.

    here’s my review from the 45 minutes i was there:

    the fact that it was in a DOWNTOWN area instead of a baseball field or whatever was really cool. the free stages were really cool. and that’s about it. i really really don’t like the dmmc and i could probably complain about a lot of things, but i will leave it alone.

  2. I contemplated not posting this, but then I figured that the majority of reviews will be overwhelmingly positive, as it seems that it is an unwritten rule (with local media) that reviewers can’t be negative.

Leave a Reply

