Coldplay

I guess I like the new Coldplay? I guess this will make Matt mad? Hehehe :)

Coldplay Viva La Vida

  1. Life in Technicolor: A great, building, first song that does not bore the listener.
  2. Cemeteries of London: An excellent song that sets the more serious tone for the latest Coldplay album. This is not done by the title and lyrics alone, but also by the deeper, darker sound of the music.
  3. Lost: What an interesting switch-up for this determinedly serious, dark album. Still, the underlying organ keeps a gothic feel and somehow works splendidly with the slow claps. Whirling and great, but not my favorite track.
  4. 42: This strikes me as more old school Coldplay than any other title on this album. There is a synth sound that comes in about a third-way in that I have not heard/noticed on the other Coldplay albums I have heard, as I’m sure there are many sounds heard here that weren’t on previous albums.
  5. Lovers In Japan/ Reign Of Love: The first section (Lovers in Japan, I will assume) could be a very polished Envy Corps song, all around. The second part, Reign of Love, makes it a Coldplay song. With any lesser album, I would think that this second part was a trying, experimental effort, but the two-part song works here.
  6. Yes: This song is rounding out the album nicely. It makes sense that it is on same album as Lost. While it fits, it is kind of a weak song and I’ll be surprised if they try to turn this into a single, though, I would be interested to see what a music video of this would look like.
  7. Viva La Vida: Initially, I thought the cello or strings or whatever that is thumping throughout this song was too rich to be a synth, but after Ryan suggesting it could be a synth and trying to listen to it as synth, I can see it. Someone, please confirm if this is a synth! I really like this song, by the way, like really like it.
  8. Violet Hill: How goth of a title.
  9. Strawberry Swing: Not my favorite song on this album.
  10. Death And All His Friends: Who really can call a song this and get away with it, really? The echo-y vocals sound great and work perfectly on the last track of this ghostly album.

I talked to Greg and we agreed that this is one of our favorite albums of 2008. Sometimes I do lose interest and I have my complaints, but there is no doubt in my mind that Viva La Vida is a solid album. B+

3 responses to “Coldplay

  1. 1. What is even spooky about this album????! How can you call this ghostly???

    -Matt (one of his predicted complaints)

  2. i don’t think i like coldplay, but i haven’t listened to this album. so…

  3. Allison,
    Your predicted complaint suggests that I would even bother to read this article, which I didn’t.

    Listening to Coldplay is a slap in the face to so many artists.

Leave a Reply

