The greatest fangame I’ve ever seen.

Hi.

My name is Joe. If you know me, you know that I love Super Metroid, Metroid 3. It was a game that came along at the right time in my life and just kicked me in the fucking head. Then, everyone waited and waited for a sequel. Remember Metroid 64? I DON’T. Let’s wait some more!

Okay, so Metroid 4 comes out and it’s pretty good, it just wasn’t better or as good as Super Metroid… at all. Life goes on…

…until late last month.

Apparently this dude named Von Richter has secretly been working on a fan tribute game to Super Metroid entitled Metroid SR388 (for those that don’t know, SR388 is the Metroid’s home world featured in Metroid II: The Return of Samus). He just released a trailer for it.

Shit shit shit shit shitshitshisthishsithsit.

No but for real, if you don’t get goosebumps from that, check your pulse because you’re dead to me. Look at the animation. I mean, Super Metroid had some pretty fluid animation going, but just look at Samus morph into a ball. Look at that spin jump. Look at the bomb effects and fire effects. Check out the beams maaaan.

It looks like the Spider Ball is going to be making a return to the 2D Metroid world as well, and what has affectionately been dubbed the “mock ball” in the Super Metroid speed run community (the fast, green morph ball you’re seeing in a few shots in that trailer).

There’s so much going on in this trailer, so just watch it.

Metroid rules, Prime sucks.

Love,

Joe.

joe515

3 responses to “The greatest fangame I’ve ever seen.

  1. so… what’s the deal? when’s it come out, etc? are there any details yet?

    it looks killer.

  2. I read about this game and I thought it was mentioned that it’s a remake of Metroid II but based on the Super Metroid engine or something.

    PS – Why do you hate Metroid Prime?

  3. I know metroid prime is just as good as any other metroid is it just becuase its 3D i mean it doesnt matter what dimention its in just how solid the story and acceseries ect

Leave a Reply

